Privacy Tip #329 – Download one-time-use apps, then delete them | Robinson+Cole Data Privacy + Security Insider

ByLance T. Lee

Apr 29, 2022

I flew this week to a client’s home to perform a cybersecurity table top exercise – one of my favorite activities (the table, not the flight).

To be able to use the wi-fi everyone educated in the gate area was told over the loudspeaker that we had to download the airline app to our phones and that if we wanted to buy anything during the flight we had to enter our credit card numbers into the app.

I’m sure everyone can visualize my dismay at this announcement. As I need to work, unfortunately I downloaded the app to be able to use the wi-fi. I did NOT put my credit card number in the app.

On the return flight (late night), the passengers across from me wanted a cocktail, but since they didn’t download the app, they were relegated to soft drinks. Needless to say, they were disappointed with their situation.

When I landed I deleted the app. I no longer needed it. When you download these apps, it’s important to read what they do with your information. This app asked for my location, wanted to track me, and a number of pop-ups asked for my permission to do so; I rejected them all.

Consider limiting the information you share with apps you rarely use, and consider deleting one-time-use apps when you no longer need them. If you don’t use them, they can still follow you for months until you use them again. It is very easy to download them again when you need to use them in the future.

[View source.]


Source link